Portfolio – A summary of my experience

Introduction

As I enrolled on this module I perhaps naively assumed it would be a stroll in the park for someone who’s an expert in wasting hours watching videos of chicken shop reviews on Facebook, or looking at 2002 Football World Cup squads on Wikipedia. How wrong I was, I didn’t expect there to be such a wide scope of study for both living and working on the internet, with personal highlights including being able to research and evaluate subjects such as the ethics of social media, drawbacks to free content and the importance of online professionalism.

What I’ve learned

testable

Table 1: The self test, showing the difference in digital competencies before and after undertaking the module (Arthur Boulding, 2016).

 

The above table displays how literate I am in varying online skills before and after partaking in the module. The greatest improvements have come in the fields of online networks, collaboration and creation of content which the video below further deliberates on.

Video 1: Reflections (Arthur Boulding, 2017).

I personally feel I only grew slightly more competent in skills such as accessing online information, managing my security and communicating using the internet which is mainly due to a fairly frequent use of these prior to the module.

While I found discussions on the subjects of internet ethics and content availability the most interesting and engaging part of the module, due to the scope for debate and breadth of content, the most important lesson I will take away with me from this module is how significant it is to not only moderate but utilise my social media accounts and online profile(s). Topics 2 & 3 introduced me to the importance of not only having accounts that are appropriate to employers, but also importantly that a linking of such accounts from different sources is extremely beneficial as a candidate.

linkedin

Image 1: My LinkedIn profile (Arthur Boulding, 2017).

facebookpirv

Image 2: Increasing the privacy of my Facebook profile (Arthur Boulding, 2017)

This has led me to take several actions, including the creation of a LinkedIn profile (Image 1) and increasing the privacy of my Facebook page, making it less accessible to potential employers (Image 2). With LinkedIn being the most commonly used for vetting by employers (Jobvite, 2015) I felt the linking of Twitter and Google profiles will follow prevent them from further pursuing searches for other accounts.

I also plan on making other changes in the future with respect to what I’ve learned in this module, as are displayed in image 3 below.

future-intentio_843_aca5cb75a56ff77114025bc8f73ce3ada325455e

Image 3: Future intentions (Arthur Boulding, 2017)

Challenges

One aspect I found very challenging as an arts student was word limits, both in the blog posts and when communicating with educators using twitter (140 characters is very challenging compared to emails!). I found, especially initially, I couldn’t expand points as much as I ordinarily would in a conventional essay, which was eased by increasing use and command of online software such as PowToon and Piktochart to create visual online content.

Conclusion

While I most enjoyed researching for topics 4 & 5 the most advantageous teachings from this module regard the enhancement of my professional profile, with my graduation and subsequent job search looming ever closer. This is not to say I haven’t acquired other useful online skills, from collaborating with others in online communities to communicating with multi national organisations using Twitter (Image 4)!

twitta

Image 4: Communicating via twitter (Arthur Boulding, 2017)

Word Count: 505

 

references

Jobvite, 2015, available at: https://www.jobvite.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/jobvite_recruiter_nation_2015.pdf, accessed on 2/1/2017

Image, available at: https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=internet+user&espv=2&biw=1242&bih=580&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjuucDM6KTRAhUlK8AKHWnoCw4Q_AUIBigB#tbm=isch&q=living+on+the+internet&imgrc=AhKdk9YG3GGU5M%3A accessed on 3/1/2017

 

Leave a Reply

